TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are some situations that we confront the dilemma of how we should react to tackle the issue, such as when people making unintentionally mistake in a classroom or meeting. A controversial question, which is raised regarding this issue, is whether correcting the mistake right away during the speech is logical or waiting to talk to the speakers after the meeting, or in some situations saying nothing at all. While different people hold different perspectives according to their previous experiences, As far as I am concerned, I prefer to correct the mistake during the meeting. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that this approach prevents the spreading of incorrect information. The main reason that people usually participate in a meeting, and students in a classroom is to broaden their scope of knowledge in a specific field, therefore, if we as the audiences realize the mistakes and try to ignore them, some people who are not experts in that area will receive invalid information. Moreover, participants of these kinds of lectures confide in the ability of the lecturers they may refer to these lecture’s information when talking about a special topic. As a result, the wrong information distributes unconsciously. For instance, in the classroom, if the pupils gain wrong information about the topic of how to cure chronic diseases they might convey these erroneous materials to their parents and friends.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that this way may lead to hot discussion in the lecture or meeting, resulting in the involvement of audiences in the meeting. Most of the times audiences are complaining about how attending lectures or classroom meetings are boring for them since lecturers or the meeting leader is the only person talking all the time. However, through pointing out the mistakes of speakers, other people may participate and exchange their ideas and viewpoints, consequently, they will grasp knowledge in depth. My own experience is a compelling example of this. During an international conference, the lecturer made a mistake about the rate of unemployment in our country, as I have work on this topic for my thesis, I correct his mistake which leads to a long-lasting exciting hot debate that even other professors and student gave their point of view.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly support the idea we should correct the speaker's mistake immediately. This approach not only helps to hinder the spreading of wrong information but also leads to a hot discussion that all participants can involve in it.