TPO-45 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In every stage of life, people are needed to make vital decisions, and it is more critical for young people as they are in the best period of their life creating their own future. Young people require dependable sources to discuss and share their mindsets to reach greater solutions and decisions. Hence, a question can be raised in this regard that is whether young people have the ability to make decisions on their own or not. One standpoint states that in the current world young people can decide better about their own lives in contrast to the past when they depended too much on their parents. I concur with this idea and in the ensuing lines, I delve into two reasons to substantiate this point.

The first reason coming to mind is that because of our fast-changing world the lifestyle gap between parents and young people make it ineffective for young people to gain too much from them. The pace of changes in our world is increasing every year, and then you need to adapt yourself to the new different environments and even cultures. For example, in the past people had more time to spend with their family but in the current trend, working time and business issues take a longer portion of one’s life. Hence, work challenges are more serious than before. Also, the way people are connected to each other has changed significantly since technology improvements make a new culture of social behavior. As a result, young people can’t depend on old-fashion rituals that work for their parents in the past. To sum up, almost every aspect of daily life has changed, and therefore, young ones should make their own ways to cope with their issues.

Secondly, young people have access to a variety of source of information than the past and this opportunity makes it increasingly easier for them to decide on their own. According to the technology changes that make knowledge and information sharing possible through internet webs and social networks, young people can share their decision difficulties with others with the same age and concerns. Moreover, they can benefit from others’ experiences and decision-making criteria to reduce the probability of making wrong decisions. Take, for instance, you can speak to students of different universities to find out not only which major is more suitable for you but also which university is better in that field of study. In contrast, parents' advice is being more general about issues because of lack of information. When I asked my mother’s decision to study abroad, she said: “If I were you, I would choose the county which is more friendly and kind to foreigners” with no exact details and specifications.

In summary, all the aforementioned ideas bring us to the conclusion that young people dependency on their parents should be less than the past as things change very fast and technology provide a lot of available information for decision making. Thus, young people shouldn’t take this chance as a granted and do their best in making suitable decisions.