TPO 45 In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

There has been a constant drumbeat that current generations are more independent compared to the previous generations. Personally, I agree with the statement and I will elaborate my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, some might hold the point that young people rely on their parents to make decisions for them especially when it comes to their profession. However, pursuing a career is a significant decision to decide, not only associate with self-interest but also needs to include financial factors. In order to have a comprehensive conclusion, discussing with people who are experienced and familiar with our own characteristics seems to be a reasonable process.

In addition, marriage depends on two people's decision instate of the parents. In ancient society, an individual usually has little control over their own marriage and parents tended to choose someone with equal family background. On the other hand, with the awareness of free will and people being more well educated, parents' influence decreased dramatically when it comes to marriage. For instance, my grandparent's marriage was decided by their parents. Before the night they engaged, both of them had never seen each other before not to mention loved each other. Needless to say, similar circumstances would never happen in present society.

Moreover, parents start to change to way they educate children, encourage them to learn from the process, and prevent it from happening again. The traditional way of thinking changed dramatically, parents raise offspring with freedom and encouragement instead of the iron fist. To illustrate, in early 2019, Oxford University published an investigation about the association between the way parents educate children and the index of the parent's educational background, with higher education, parents tend to believe children as an individual people and with welling to communicate with them rather than command them, giving a direct decision.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that the current generation is more independent compared to the previous generation. Because when it comes to important decisions to determine, the youngster will always contribute to the process and make selfs own decision.