TPO 46- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without the shadow of doubt that celebrities are among the treasure of each country and people, regardless of their age, respect them so much. However, controversy surrounds this issue that they are more well-accepted by youngers or elder people. Broadly speaking, I am of the opinion that younger people pay much more attention to them than elder ones and follow them narrowly. The following explanations are further elaborate this perspective.

To commerce, one of the most important reasons is that younger people as they enter puberty, they tend to find a model, better to say an idol to imitate him. This is, actually, because they begin organizing a life style for themselves. Hence, because of the broad acceptance and reputation that celebrities possess, they can be suitable idol for younger people. This issue has been supported widely by psychologist. For example, I remember when I was younger, I used to keep the track of famous actors. I thoroughly believed in their opinions, and I tied to dress like them, choose my meal plan according to them and so on. As a matter of fact, when I think back about those days, I can readily understand that I did so because I wanted to manage a life style for myself. Due to the fact that, celebrities had a widespread acceptance, I choose them as my model.

Secondly, it’s worth to mention a specific characteristic of youth, though, it can be clear that why celebrities are more important for youth. Younger people’s ability to recognize the noteworthy things from those of less importance has not completely developed. There for, they readily accept reputed opinions even without evaluating them. Take my sister as an example, she was a fanatic opponent of a rock band. She begun to imitate them in every aspect of life, from the trend of the cloths and hair model to daily activities. Moreover, my sister showed a great passion to play electric guitar, Hence, she started attending music classes. But the point is that, she wasn’t really interested in guitar and she had chosen it just because of following that band, without any concept of what a guitar is or whether she is excited to learn a musical instrument or not. As you can imagine, she left her classes and playing guitar so soon. This taught me that youngers don’t have enough information about issues or even their characteristic, and the only criterion that they have is their model’s opinions. Consequently, that can lead them to inappropriate choices in life.

To sum it up, to support this idea that younger people are the majority fans of celeb’s ideas, I can claim that this happens because of the low ability of recognition of the proper and improper opinions and also the intrinsic inclination of creating a model to imitate him, in order to find their way in life.