TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It is very important to have the knowledge as to what is happening around the world. In every century, knowledge has always been blissful for everyone, no matter whether a person is being affected by it or not. There are many people who do not think likewise because they believe that their life is not being influenced by it and so it is a total waste of time to keep track of news daily. But in my opinion it is extremely necessary for the following reasons.

First, if a person is well aware of the incidences occurring around the world then it will definitely help him/her to prepare for any unknown problem. Life is quite unpredictable and full of adventures; one can never anticipate what is going to happen next minute. There are many accidents that have taken place in many people’s life suddenly when they were not prepared for it and thus they had to face a lot difficulties in recovering from miss happening for example one of the most terrible tsunami that occurred in Japan in 2011. Thousands of people died in it just because they were not ready for such a devastating thing. So, if they knew it about is forehand, there are chances that some of them could have been saved. Thus it is mandatory to update one’s knowledge often.

Second, it is also crucial for the development of a society worldwide. There are people who do not give stress to gain knowledge about various things like computer, internet and about much recent invention in technology. This results in their downfall gradually and they are not able to keep pace with rest of the world. I can recall that recently I got an opportunity to visit an island in South Africa and meet a tribal community, where everyone was uneducated and they were totally isolated from the rest of the civilized society. After spending some time I realized how miserable these tribal people were, they did not have any civic sense nor did they have proper resources to live a decent life. Therefore, It is worth spending time to keep oneself aware and updated.

To recapitulate, I would like to say that knowledge not only enlightens one’s mind and help to become a better human being but it also contributes in making life simpler and healthier to live. There is no harm in collecting information about what is happening around the world because I think it is interesting way to develop one’s mind.