Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school To what extent do you agree or disagree

I can be argued that schools should inculcate practical skills training in their curricula along with academic subjects. This essay agrees with the above viewpoint and sheds some light on its avantages for school-going children.

Practical skills enable a person to walk through his life in a smart way. It is necessary in today's world to be able to manage one's household and finances with caution and planning. For example, schools which have extra-curricular classes on bank accounts are shown to instill a sense of practical approach towards financial management in their pupils that undoubtedly works in latter's favour and gives them a headstart once they start earning.

Training school children in practical skills also makes them independent and confident to take on life outside school. A student well-versed in general practical skills has a more adventurous outlook on life and is not totally dependent on another person when faced with an unforseen problem. He remains calm, composed, and thinks logically in such a situation. For instance, a boy, who has been educated about car maintenance in his school, when faced with an accidental tire-puncture of their family car during a trip would be up for the challenge to replace the tire quickly rather than being panicked out of his wits.

In conclusion, this essay, by illustrating how a practical approach to life encouraged during school is wholly advantageous for a child, advocates incorporation of practical skills training along with academic studies in school curricula.