TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is an essential aspect of our lives. It helps us overcome hardships and enjoy our lives better in the company of those we truly like. However, there is a debate whether we should make new friends rather than maintain our friendship with our older friends. It has been proven that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. This essay will demonstrate the virtues and merits of maintaining long-term relationships.

First, long-term relationships would be more beneficial than short-term ones. Because friendship could grow deeper and larger over time and friends could feel deep affections towards each other. For instance, I have tried to maintain my friends as possible as I could. Although it is a hard thing to do and you may face difficult situations that could easily break your friendship apart. I have managed to maintain my connection with a couple of my friends since high school. I'm still seeing Ebrahim for about 20 years, and we grew mutual interests over time. We both like photography a lot, and we occasionally catch up to retell our memories or discuss new technological achievements in the photography world. Sometimes we take a little trip to suburbs and venture into the wilderness. I have a couple of more friends that I really enjoy spending time with them. Through years, we came up with making greater bonds with each other. That was just a scratch on a surface of how keeping friends could be joyful and beneficial.

Second, short based relationships aren't going to last long. People often enter into short relationships to benefit few advantages. Let me elaborate this point by making an example. When I was going to IAUCTB to study architecture; I had numerous friends. We were all knew each other distantly, but we have respectable relationships. We called each other by names, and we had close connections. We had each other numbers and using them in exam periods. After we graduated from the university; our connections went cold, and we rarely have called each other. Moreover, after about eight years I barely remember their names. I have contemplated about the causes of this situation, and I realized that we were friends only because we had short-term mutual interests. We hadn't had deep connections, or we wouldn't discuss personal matters with each other. We were friends but only on the surface. That was a simple example of contrasting short-term friendships with long-term ones.

Maintaining long period of friendship is much more beneficial than finding lots of friends in short time. In a long period, you would get to know your friends and your mutual interests better, and this would give you enough reasons to keep your friendship. Your affections would grow larger over time, and you would feel closer to your friends every day. But short-term relationships; as I mentioned above and had been proven to me; isn't lasting. Thus, we should try our best to keep our old friends. No matter what.