TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is one of the most important relationships we make in our lives because we get to choose our friends while we do not choose our family members or even the people we fall in love with. Friends make life easier, as they share not only your happy moments but also the sad ones. No matter how old you are or what you do in life, you will always need friends. Though many people may disagree, I think the ability to make friends easily is more important to happiness than maintaining few friends for a long time for the following reasons.

The main reason is that life is unpredictable you may travel and live far away from your friends, and if you can not make friends easily, you will end up alone which is mentally unhealthy. For example, I had the same circle of friends for about 12 years. We lived in the same neighborhood, went to the same school, and practically did everything together. Then we ended up on different paths as each one of us got accepted into a different university, in a different city. I went to the pharmacy school in Baghdad while my friend Sarah went to the law school in Basra. Our friend Mina went to London to study Economics. I was a shy girl who never had to start a conversation with a stranger let alone make a new friend. I always had my friends with me not just in school but basically everywhere, so when the time came, and I had to make friends for the first time in my life, I just couldn't. I felt really alone, and I cried myself to sleep every night because I couldn't stand the idea of not having my friends with me. By the end of my first year at school, I decided to transfer to the pharmacy school in Basra only to be with my friend Sarah, though pharmacy school at Baghdad University was my dream. This experience taught me that the ability to make friends quickly is so much more beneficial and valuable than having the same friends for an extended period.

The other reason is that I believe more friends mean more fun because it is always more fun to be around many people than being with a small group. For instance, at my Hena party, which is a party very similar to a bachelor party except it is for girls, I only had over a few friends that I could count them on the fingers of one hand. We tried to have some fun, but something was missing. Despite the great music, food, and the fact that my girls and I were really close as we have known each other forever, I could still feel that there was something off; which is our number. The only problem was that we were so few and you need many people to really have fun in such parties. On the contrary to my kind of boring party, I remember that my sister's Hena party was epic. My sister is a very social person, and she can make friends anywhere she goes. Her party was so crowded and of course so much more fun than mine. Everyone we know still talks about how fun it was. As you can see having few friends for a long time is not as good to happiness as having the ability to make friends quickly.

The other thing is the fact that people change. You and your friend as well will have a different way of thinking, preferences, and sometimes even different believes at some point in your lives. The friend you get along with so well today, you may not stand her or him one day According to an article I read in some psychology magazine that was talking about how people change every seven years or so. The author stated that how you are the same person you were, only for the past seven years; she explains that our minds in addition to our bodies change over the course of seven years. I find this statement very accurate. For example, my husband stopped talking to his best friend John at the age of 28. When I asked him if they had a fight or maybe John did something wrong, he told me that there was nothing wrong with John. He said that he was just unable to be John's friend anymore because they were too different, and they could not agree on anything. The ironic thing is that my husband became best friend with Adam, his college, who he never liked before.

In a nutshell, though many people think it is better to have a small group of friends for a long time, I think the ability to make new friends easily will enable you to be happy no matter what the circumstances are. I think everyone should try to be more social and make friends wherever he or she goes because this is an essential social skill that is far more important than the ability to keep friends for a long time.