TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

There have appeared endless discussions over making friends. Some people argue that maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long time is more crucial to being happy than easily making new friends. Personally, I approve of this argument.

On one hand, what takes my priority is the happiness of people. It is well noted that after a long time being friends with someone, these people surely have a great understanding of each other strengths, flaw, personalities, hobbies, etc. Because of knowing the others so well, it is highly likely that they are able to share with these friends, to sympathize with others’ pain as well as celebrating their happiness. As a result, they develop a close bond, and their friendship is greatly strengthened. Being such close friends, they are bound to bring each other more happiness in life. More interestingly, the fact is that knowing each other for a long time, together experiencing many hardships in life leads to trust between friends. They can expect help from their friends whenever in need, and they would be willing to return the favor anytime. Subsequently, having good friends to back them up allow people to overcome difficulties much easier. They are relieved from stress and worries, opening up opportunities to have a happier life. Indeed, maintained friendships with only a few fill people lives with joy and happiness.

On the other hand, some people might say that having friendships with just a tiny number of people means they interact with only a small group, limiting their social ability. As a consequence, people would be isolated from the world, and they no longer are happy but instead sad and depressed. However, that is not necessarily the case. In fact, maintaining friendship with few people does not mean they do not socialize with other people. They still take part in social activities like any other person. Furthermore, in a small group of friends, people have a tendency to know each other more personally. It follows that they have stronger relationships and bonds towards each other. Hence, it is possible that they find experiences together more enjoyable and fun. With that kind of friendship, people certainly are happy and enjoy their lives a lot more. With no doubt, the claim that maintaining friendships with few people prevents people from happiness is intrinsically false.

In summary, by sharing with friends, help one another and stronger bonds, having friendships over a long time with a small number of friends fills people with happiness. It is highly recommended that people should take my writing into detailed consideration to make an appropriate decision on making friends.