TPO 50 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

There's no doubt that university students struggle a lot in order to balance their work life and study life. They have so much of burden on their shoulder and have a myriad of extra courses in university which are obsolete and are no longer needed. In my view, I strongly disagree that history courses in university should be required no matter what one's field is. This is mainly due to some reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent essay.

To begin with, students already have a plethora of other classes which are really significant for them in the future and which in fact, needs high emphasis. Adding one other class, history class, can be detrimental for students. It can add up more pressure due to which people may give less attention to important subjects. My personal experience is a great example of this. In the final semester of my pharmacy classes, my university made it mandatory for all students to take history classes in order to understand the importance of the work our ancestors had done. Owing to the fact that history is full of dates and places, I started to lose concentration on other vital subjects as remembering and learning those dates were troublesome for me. Somehow I managed to do so and eventually I got immersed into history knowledge but I got lower grades on my other subjects. Due to which my GPA fell below 3. In my 5 years of pharmacy job, I have never applied history dates once after that in my field. As you can see, history class is not so worthwhile to take and one should focus on other main subjects.

Another reason is that, history class is useless to take because the world has changed entirely. We are living in a modern world where we can not even compare past to the present and future. For instance, building infrastructure was different back then. In the past, people used many different materials which we do not use it anymore. People in the past did not have developed trains and transit system, as we have now. There's a tremendous change now when we compare our present from past. Therefore, learning about past is just a waste of time when things are wholly changed. Thus, taking history classes are not valuable

To sum up, university should not make decision of adding history class as a requirement. This is because students can actually concentrate on other essential subjects which can be important for them in the future. Also, things have varied so much in this world that no one can relate today from the past.