TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

Undoubtedly, history is essential for all of us as it shape our understanding of the world and nations which are invisible but surrounded by it. History allows us to take a step back and recognized that some of what we take for granted is remarkable. Meanwhile, we should also recognize that the main objective of advanced education is to reinforce students’ knowledge and research capacity on one specific area rather than leaning other subjects that they’ve been learning for many years. Thus, from my point of view, I think all university students do not need to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

To begin with, in most countries, students have to learn history in junior high school or even in primary school, which means all university students should obtain all necessary history knowledge before entering university. Therefore, knowing more in detail about history won’t play a vital catalytic role in understanding their culture or field of study, especially for those who choose math, chemistry or medicine as their future career.

Furthermore, it is of great importance to university students to be more focused on their field of study, considering the fact that more most of university students are still struggling with acquiring Grade A for their test or limited time to reading the book or research their professor assigned to accomplish. If they are forced to learn history courses in the university, this will not only reduce the time they can spend on their field but also add extra workload to their task list. Taking my and also my university classmates’ experience as example, to get an A score for my major courses, we have no extra energy to learn more general knowledge and sometimes we even have to skip these courses in order to attend the laboratory and finish our intern programme.

Though university students are not required to take history courses, to those have a strong interest on history, still can take history courses by observing history major courses or reading books. which means students won't be deprived student of their right to know more about history. Moreover, by offering my flexibility, students can choose the course that more adapt to their needs.

That said, I think all university students should not be required to take history courses considering they acquire enough history related knowledge before entering university as well as they should more focus on the field of study.