TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the increase in population around the world, we are facing a rise in demand for public transportation. In my opinion, nowadays, public transportation is a more vital issue than internet access to be considered. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, the improvement in public transportation can result in less air pollution. If governments do not provide an appropriate system of public transportation, the number of people who use their cars for going to their workplace or other places during the day will dramatically increase. In other words, this raise will bring about more usage of fossil fuels, which means more air pollution to handle. For example, ten years ago, in my hometown, there was only one route of the subway so that we always had to deal with high percentages of air pollution. However, after these ten years, the government has developed the transportation system, such as more routes for subways and more comfortable buses. As a result, today's surveys show that air pollution has gradually decreased in ten years.

Secondly, without an improved public transportation system, the traffic will be going to be a dilemma to solve. When in metropolitan cities there is no suitable public transportation which can facilitate people's daily transports, everyone finds the solution in utilizing their vehicles. In consequence, individuals have to get stuck in traffic for hours every day. For instance, in Tehran, people always have to cope with massive traffic because of the lack of available public transportation facilities around the city. Most of the people need to use their cars because there are not enough stations of busses or subway around the city, so if they want to use public transportation, they have to walk from subways or bus stops to their work for about half an hour. Not only there are not sufficient stations around the city, but also the number of available buses and subways is fewer than it is expected for a considerable population like what Tehran has, so each person has to wait long hours for getting on a bus. These are the reasons why most people in Tehran would rather use their vehicles, which causes traffic all over the city.

In conclusion, I believe that devoting money to public transport is a necessity for every country because it can reduce the air pollution and traffic of the cities.