Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Nowadays, we are living in a world which changes rapidly day by day. In my opinion, everyone needs to know what is happening around the world. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, knowing the latest events will keep us up to date, so when we are in society, we can communicate with people better. Today's social groups, such as colleagues and friends, are mostly updated because of the vast development of technology. Therefore, when they know everything that happens around the world, and you do not, that does not put a good impression of you in their minds. For example, when I was a freshman at college, I had a friend who was not interested in the latest events such as political or social ones. Once one of my professors asked all of us a question about the newest economy issues, and she did not know anything. Although she was a hard-working student, the professor did not depend on her because of her lack of information.

Secondly, seeing the events and observing their reasons and consequences will lead us to become more knowledgable than before. I believe that nothing happens in this world by chance, and there is always a reason behind everything. In other words, the progress of realizing why something results in something else, make us learn essential factors which we can use in our future life. For instance, again back to when I was In college, we had a commerce class in which we had to follow all the latest news about the economy or politic and reported them to our professor. She believed that knowing this news can prepare us for our future workforce. When I look back to my job promotions through these years, I find out how this fact helped me to improve by just learning from the consequences of events. That is, If anyone wants to become successful in business, they should use every piece of information because sometimes even a single unknown detail can bring about a massive loss of money in companies.

In conclusion, I think people should be aware of the latest events because we need to be updated in society to have a better impression on others and be in touch with them, and knowing the reasons and the results of an event can increase our experience in daily life.