TPO 54 Writing Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As far as employment and health are concerned, I strongly hold that governments should divert their investment to athletics. It is hard to deny that money can make artists better, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that governments should spend more money on supporting arts than athletics. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously.

First and foremost, invest money in athletics can create more jobs, as athletes need professional coaches otherwise they find difficulties in improving themselves, and doctors are necessary for healing and recovering. Meanwhile, sports can increase economic growth by build a platform for sponsors and TV stations. Not to mention that athletes need arenas and sports centers to compete in. A lot of jobs will be offered due to athletics, which makes great progress for the economy.

Furthermore, sports can make people healthy. Take the case of LeBron James, who is a famous NBA player and an idol for many people. People play basketball instead of playing games at home, they exercise to get stronger and healthier because they would like to be a person like LeBron. Lebron also told people to never give up when you face troubles, which encourages people and builds better mental health too. Spending more money on athletics will make people be more healthy.

It is known that arts are often obscure and abstract. An artwork may concern about many aspects of life. It is hard to educate great artists. however, spending money on athletics will pay off quickly and significantly. With more money, athletes can get better educations and nutrition, so they will improve their skills and health to achieve better results.

In a nutshell, I maintain that governments should invest money on athletics instead of the arts. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.