TPO41-W2, Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

With the growing attention to the quality of education and the nationwide compulsory education, teachers are playing a more and more significant role in our society. Schools which possess famous teachers are popular, and parents even spend a great deal of money buying houses nearby the famous schools in order to provide their children a better education. However, the social appreciation to teachers are different. News that some teacher uses corporal punishment to their students is always heard, which rises the public worry about the teaching method that teachers use. On the other hand, teacher are facing increasing pressure from schools, parents and students. Nowadays teachers are less appreciated and valued by public. In my opinion, there are several reasons for this situation.

First of all, parents are in a higher position than teachers in our modern society, for being educated is not receiving a gift from teachers anymore, but buying a service from school. In the ancient time when schools are called “si shu”, education is unaffordable for most of people, but the only way for a poor family to get a better life was imperial examination. If they had a chance to get educated, they would regard it as a gift. In the early time of PRC, people are less educated while there were few teachers, so teachers were high valued at that time. Today, receiving education becomes duty, so parents start to regard it as a service. In addition, it is known to all that schools, family and society together play an important role in education, while today all responsibility fall to teachers’ hands. When kids are naughty and have bad manner, people tend to blame teachers in spite of their own fault. So the parents’ wrong opinion to education makes teacher less appreciated.

On the other side, teachers are different from the old time. In ancient time, the teacher in the “si shu” was the most knowledgeable and noblest person among the village. And in the early time of the PRC, teachers still possessed most of the knowledge. They studied abroad and brought back latest method. Today teachers are more likely to just make a living. Teacher becomes a job which is no more different than other careers. Moreover, the number of teachers becomes so large, which contains lots of inexperienced teachers. They lack efficient method to make their student study better and restrict them, and finally use the extreme method such as corporal punishment, which decrease the social appreciation to teachers.

To sum it all, both our society and teachers are responsible for the low evaluation of teachers. I believe that our society needs more understanding, and teacher should improve themselves. So that we can change this situation.