In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

I disagree that there will be fewer cars twenty years from now. Cars have been around since the twentieth century, and even though technological improvements have been made, cars have remained a staple in our lives. In addition, technology would lower the cost to manufacture a car, allowing more people to afford one. Consequently, the economic progression of developing countries would provide a new demand for cars.

First of all, cars have been around for decades, and there is no sign that it would diminish from our lives. Even though there have been multiple technology advancements, there is still no substitute for cars. We need cars to save time in the fast-paced world. Cars let us get around faster and save time waiting. Though one would argue that a comprehensive public transport system would be a possible substitute for cars, it is still much slower than cars. Many people still rely on cars and taxis to quickly attend the next event on their schedules.

Furthermore, technology has allowed cheaper, more efficient and more eco-friendly cars to be manufactured. For example, companies such as Tesla are in the process of producing cheaper electric cars that would allow more people to afford a green vehicle. These developments are especially crucial in developing countries. For one thing, as these countries transform into industrialized countries, more and more people live far from where they work. Countries such as China and India have shown trends where people live in the suburbs and work in the city. Cheap cars would play an essential role in their lives as they need to get to work quickly, while having little money to spend. The number of cars would increase as more people afford cars. For another thing, technology could develop cars that are lower in carbon emissions. Currently, governments of developing countries have been carrying out measures to lower the amount of car exhaust. This means in the future, eco-friendly cars would allow for wider adoption.

In conclusion, there would be much more cars twenty years from now. Cars have been an essential part of our lives, and will continue to be in the next twenty years. Technological advancements have not yet come up with substitutes for cars, but rather provided more efficient and eco-friendly cars that could be used for widespread adoption.