A university recognized that first-year students have poor study skills and believed that the best way to address this problem is to require all first-year students to take courses on study skills. Do you think this is a good idea?

Some people think that requiring all freshman students to take courses on study skills can help them gain better study skills, while others disagree. For me, I don't believe this is a good idea. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, universities should care about their budgets. Nevertheless, requiring all first-year students to take any sort of compulsory course will make them waste too much money. For example, my university once forced all students to participate in a lesson that taught us how to read more efficiently. My university spent more than 500,000 dollars per year hiring teachers who have expertise in the field. Moreover, the professors demanded my school allocate more than 100,000 dollars for textbooks and resources every semester. As a result, my university wasted 10% of the budget on this seemingly useless course. Contrarily, the university started to give first-year students options to not participate in the skill developing course last year. For this reason, the school saved more than 10,000 dollars per year for the lesson, including professors' salaries and teaching resources.

In addition, universities are usually concerned about their reputation, but requesting students to join courses that teach study skills will undoubtedly damage their reputation to a great extent. For example, my sister's college once designed a study skill class and asked every student to take it. Unfortunately, people who are talented at "educating others how to educate oneself" are quite rare in my country. Thus, her school can only find professors that are not well-educated in this field. Therefore, the instructors often had no idea what they were lecturing during the class. These instructors frequently digressed and talked about random topics in the lecture. What's worse, nearly no one in the class was paying attention to the professor. As a result, the quality of that compulsory course made her university obtain a notorious reputation. Had her university not designed such a terrible curriculum, it would not have received such a horrible image.

Last but not least, universities should emphasize students' studies. Yet, asking all freshmen to partake in a specific required course might affect their study. For instance, my cousin is currently a first-year computer science student. He needs to learn various important courses including calculus, physics, chemistry, programming, and data structure. Furthermore, he also joins numerous clubs, including the math club, computer security club, etc. Subsequently, he must study approximately six to eight hours per day. So apparently, he does not have extra time to study additional, unimportant required courses. That is to say, if his school forced him to enter study techniques developing curriculum, he would spend less time on each of his subjects. If this is the case, his basic math, physics, and programming skills will be seriously affected.

To conclude, I maintain that universities should never require all first-year students to take any courses that pertain to study skills. After all, universities should focus on saving their budget, maintaining their reputation, as well as students' studying effectiveness.