UNIVERSITY WHICH TEACHES DIFFERENT FIELDS OR UNIVERSITY WHICH TEACHES ONE SPECIFIC FIELD?

Maybe life was easier in the past. All you needed to get a job was just being familiar with one specific field and that was good enough. But it is not like that now. Even for being a simple clerk in an office you must know so many things and for getting a professional job it will be even harder. That’s why I think nowadays we need education in different fields more than anything else. Here I present two of my reasons.

Firstly, the world is changing too fast. Just a decade ago if you had elementary knowledge about computer and you knew how to use some Microsoft office tools like word or excel you were good enough to get a job. But it is not like that anymore. Everything is changing too fast and it is the same about the requirements for getting a job too. These days companies are looking for some people how know at least a little bit about different things and being good in just one specific major is not the thing which big companies are looking for. Last month I went to a job interview and they asked me about the languages I know fully, I asked “isn’t English enough?” , “Oh, no. we are an international company so we need some people who know at least English and French. Beside that you must be familiar with accounting, management and some other related fields” They said. Just because I was not good enough in some of needed requirements which were not even close to my academic major, I could not get the job. And that’s why I believe you must know different fields.

Secondly, technology has changed the world. Our life is deeply affected by technology and as you know, technology is not just about one specific topic. So many different topics are included in it and if you want to move with technology you must know about different fields. just imagine what a woman needed to be a mother fifteen years ago?, in my view if she just knew how to take care of her children and do household tasks she was enough. But is it the same now? The answer is obvious, NO. nowadays a mother needs to know to work with so many smart tools for doing something really simple like cocking foods, or she must know how to work with computer or social medias to contact to her children whom may be abroad for studying. She also need to have at least some basic information about psychology to grow her children better. And all these thing can be achieved if we do not focus in one specific field and know about other topics as well.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that no matter how much you are good in one specific field. If you do not know about some other fileds you cannot do really well in your job. Why so, different fields are too close to each other these days and you must know about them to do a good job. So I believe education which teaches students about many different topics is better.