What is the most important factor for students to succeed at university or college?

1) university tutors' individual instructions to help solve students' problems;

2) encouragement from family and friends;

3) high-quality education and excellent teachers in the high school

When it comes to the college success, the young students never fail to take many factors into account. Some people believe that the most important factor for students at university or college is the encouragement from family and friends. However, some students assert that the success of the college life relies on high-quality education and excellent teachers in the high school. In my opinion, the university tutor’s individual instructions to help solve students’ problems plays the most important role.

First and foremost, tutors’ individual instructions can help the freshmen adapt to the new life of the college. Most of the students who enter in the university at the first time always feel stressed and pressured, which means they cannot follow the seniors or joiners effectively at the beginning. They may face a huge number of problems that they have never seen in their high school, like writing the reports, attending the students union, and following the new professors. And the tutors can help them solve the problems easily by introducing their situations of university and giving their own experience. For example, my friend Lucia who is a freshman can not adapt to the life of university at first. She could not understand the professors’ commands and get(got) a low grade, so she not only felt so nervous that she wanted to drop out of the university. However, after she talked with her tutor who had a lot of experience about how freshmen get involved in college life, she felt much better. Her tutor gave a lot of useful suggestions, such as how to write a letter to her professor, or how to plan her life in order to finish the homework on time. Without her tutor’s help, my friend would not continue her studies at college, let alone the success there.

Besides, by talking with the tutors, the students can get some experience from the tutor. Students can ask some questions about the college life, knowing the dates of festivals, celebrations, and the field studies, which may help them to plan their life in order rather than face everything unexpectedly. And then, the students may feel satisfied because they can prepare everything very well. For example, my roommate Amy is active in campus activities, like taking part in different kinds of festival parties and joining various clubs and everything is under her control. She not only perform well in these activities, but also gain high marks in the academic tests. The important reason she told me is that she follows the instructions that her tutors have give her on the first day of the college. Due to this, she could know when is the most appropriate time for her to participate in social life and when she should begin to prepare for her major examination. On the experience of Amy, I could conclude the advice from individual tutors can allow students to be ready for everything in universities.

Admittedly, encouragement from family and friends may let the students feel better when they face the problems. However, it is hard for most family or friends to solve the problems since they may live thousands of miles away from the university. In addition, in some case, high-quality education and excellent teachers in the high school may help acquire plenty of knowledge. But the truth is that all the universities offer totally different educational content, which means that there is hardly anything in common with the high-school education. Therefore, the usefulness of the past education and teachers can not help the students all the time.

Judging what has been discussed above, we can easily draw the conclusion that university tutors' individual instructions to help solve students' problems is the most important factor to their college success.