What’s the best way to assess students? Through tests, projects, or class participation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Modern education system is a well organised system, which can assess students in various methods. Assessing a students performances is very important because it depicts how far the students have coped with the lessons learned in classroom. Tests, projects, class participation are three ways of assessing a student, each having numerous pros. But, In my view, the best way to assess a student is project for few reasons. These are explored below.

First, assessment of group work and cooperation. Students often need to complete their projects in a group, which enables them to exercise their cooperative and group work skills, unlike tests and class participations. Tests and class participations depend on individual student assessing methods, and are not very useful to determine the students ability to work in a group. For instance, During my university final year, I needed to submit a project, involving three project group members. During that project we needed to share our ideas to successfully complete the project. Our project invilved exploring the plausibility of a new type of solar cell, dye sensitized solar cell. That project involved a lot of tasks, which could not be performed individually. We divided our works.to do every week, completed them, and then met to discuss our progress and assess each others work. This way we shared our views and modelled a three dimensional simulation of the dye sensitized solar cell using computer programs. Eventually, our project was assess at the end of the semester, and we got good grades.

Second, assessment of practical life experiences. Unlike tests and class participations, project is a very good way to explore practical life experiences by students. For example, during my high school, we completed a project on community responsibilities in our social sciences class. During that project I worked with five of my classmates to raise awareness of obesity and diabetes in our local community. At the start, we performed a survey and took measuremnts of weights the inhabitants and their diabetic conditions. After two monthes of raising awareness by project, we took the weights again. Surprisingly, the results improved. We gained a lot of practical experiences that time. Later we got good grades.

To conclude, for the reasons explored above, I think project is the best way to assess students work.