When a new technological device becomes available, some people buy it right away; others wait until many have adopted it. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the importance of digital literacy skills during this cutting-edge era, in which a new digital device, such as a smartphone, is blazed over the globe every two seconds. Many companies have come to compete with each other in this exploding market, leading to even more variety in digital devices. As a result, while some people are obsessed with new technologies and advocate adopting the most state-of-the-art models, others champion waiting an adequate time before buying a new technology. The reasons why I subscribe to the latter are manifold, two of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, the cost of any new technology is at its peak the moment it is introduced to the public and descends gradually as the market brings other stuff into play. Some high-and-mighty people may rush to purchase the newest models. Although it might seem reasonable to them, the story is completely different for me. I work a nine-to-five job running even extra miles to save money, so I cannot be ignorant of how I invest it. Why should I expend my valuable money on such a thing with many alternatives? I can buy a relatively older device than a newly introduced one yet benefit from the most up-to-the-minute technology. Take Samsung, for instance. Every summer, the company shows the world a new Samsung smartphone. Most of the time, the new version follows the previous version with only minor developments, so if one purchases the previous model, they have not lost anything special. Plus, the cost of the previous one has been reduced in the long turn making the price much more reasonable.

The second debatable point, which is remarkably worthy of being highlighted here, concerns digital devices' repair and troubleshooting. The digital world has faced several drawbacks and problems after introducing a new gadget that plays as a fly in the ointment. Indeed, every device has drawbacks that may cause it to crash occasionally. In this case, people who have purchased the most updated gadgets will fall into more trouble as the knowledge required for dealing with such problems may not be present at the moment. However, so many services for repairing older devices have developed, and more people know the answer to the specific problem that may have sparked the trouble, so one can come up with a solution more quickly if they have an older device.

In conclusion, by taking into account all of the aforementioned reasons and considerations, I firmly believe that buying an older device is more reasonable than purchasing a new one, As they cost less and can be repaired more quickly and efficiently. So let us leave the new ones for geeks only.