Which do you prefer with the same rate of pay, an interesting and challenging job with less vacation or a job with more vacation time but less fun?

Whether people should take an interesting yet difficult job with less vacation or a job with more vacation but less fun arouse a heated debate among job seekers. Although there are pros and cons for this statement, I personally prefer getting a career that is interesting but with less vacation. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, mental health is an essential factor for me when I am choosing my career. Therefore, I prefer to acquire a job that is interesting due to the fact that it can enhance my mental health and make me happier. For instance, I am currently a white-hat hacker; I get paid 5 million NTD per month for penetrating an organization’s infrastructure and hunting for vulnerabilities in servers. As a matter of fact, my job is exceptionally intriguing because I need to address unpredictable yet fascinating problems all the time, such as guessing the correct password patterns, finding vulnerabilities in server misconfiguration, etc. As a result, even though I may need to arrive at my company during the summer vacation, I did not feel upset or stressed doing my tasks for once. On the other hand, I once joined an algorithm research laboratory at the National Institute of Research. I also earned 5 million NTD every month, but the research conducted in the institution was comparably advanced and demanding. To be more specific, before the paper submission deadline, I felt despondent every time I failed to complete my algorithm report. Therefore, despite the fact that my supervisor allowed me to take a break from July to September, I felt exceptionally exhausted during my work time, and this made me develope some mental health problems like melancholia.

Last but not least, I place an emphasis on efficiency in my work, and taking an exciting job with less vacation can undoubtedly improve my working efficiency. As an example, I once participated in a company called AIdea Technology as a machine learning engineer. My supervisor gave me 7 million NTD as a monthly salary, but he asked me to use the most state-of-the-art machine learning model to build a face-recognition machine. This newly-invented model is alluring because it required precise calculation of the curve of human’s facial expression change. Therefore, I become attentive when researching this topic. In addition, my boss did not grant me to take a two-week spring break, so I had no choice but to concentrate on my model-training mission during the break. Consequently, I finished constructing a face-recognition model with 90% accuracy in no more than a week. Contrarily, I was a TA in the Theory of Deep Learning Laboratory when studying at National Taiwan University. My salary was 7.5 million NTD, and I was permitted to take a break at the end of the semester. Nonetheless, grading students’ assignments and examinations were so tedious that I often procrastinated until the day before the deadline. So according to my experience, having a fun job without any vacations increases my productivity.

In conclusion, I prefer getting a job that is interesting but with less vacations due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, I am really concerned about my mental health and working efficiency.