Which do you prefer? Travel to foreign countries when you are young or when you are older. Give specific reasons or examples to support your decision.

Travel to a different country has always been a popular pastime. Some people prefer to travel abroad when they are older and have enough savings, while others choose to travel to foreign countries when they are young. As for me, I favor traveling to a foreign country when I am young for the following reasons.

To start with, I am more likely to entertain the kind of curiosity needed to explore the world when I am young. The world is so vast that there are so different countries and cultures. Young people have an innate curiosity to wonder what life is like in those places far away from where they live, which pushes them to travel to other countries to find out answers. Take myself as an example. As an English learner, I have always been curious about what is the difference between the life of China and that of America. So I traveled to America, hoping to experience the typical American life. I found out that American people are generally more athletic than Chinese people. However, when I become old, I’m afraid the burden of life would have consumed my interest in seeing the world. In other words, I would not have traveled to America at all if I waited to do it till I am old. Therefore, I choose to travel abroad when I am young because of the intense desire to see the world.

In addition, only young people are healthy and energetic enough to go through the whole process of traveling to another country. Traveling is not easy. Firstly, it takes a considerable amount of planning, including searching information about one specific country online, finding and booking accommodation in a foreign country, booking a flight ticket on a proper date etc., all of which is exhausting and time consuming. The next difficult part is enduring the confining space inside a plane during an agonizingly long period of time. The seat inside a plane may be uncomfortable. The departure time may be in the middle of a night. Young people may be able to withstand all of the trouble and inconvenience just fine since they are usually healthy and strong . Conversely, older people are physically weaker and may not be able to take long flights. As a result, it is clear why it is better to travel to a different country when you are young.

What’s more, traveling to foreign countries helps young people to reduce stress and give them a chance to relax. Young people are facing enormous pressure from work. They have various targets to meet in order to earn a living and satisfy their managers. Sometimes they even have to share other people’s workload because of uneven distribution of work. Getting away from this kind of hectic life by traveling to another country is a good way of relaxation. For instance, I kept working everyday for two month last year for a big project. I had to put together a bidding proposal for an infrastructure project in Africa, to the amount of 100 million dollars. I had no weekends. I worked 11 hours every day. I was let down multiple time because I had to step up when other people made mistakes. After the proposal was completed, I was exhausted both physically and emotionally. I applied for a ten-day vacation so that I can travel to Thailand where I got to enjoy the beautiful beach and sunshine, exotic cuisines and some local cultures. When I got back, I was re-energized and ready to dive into new projects. By comparison, old people are usually retired. So they are relaxing and enjoying life every day. There is no need for them to travel to another country to get away from their current life. This is why it is more preferable to travel to foreign countries when you are young.

To summarize, I would choose to travel to a foreign country when I am young because as a young people I am curious about the world and strong enough to experience an exotic life. Also it is helpful in managing young people’s day-to-day pressure.