Which one is the most important factor to help you work productively?

Having an environment free of noise and distractions;

Knowing that you will receive a reward;

Doing something you are interested in.

In this hectic era in which time is equal to or even higher than gold in terms of value, improving productivity in many areas such as employees' performance or students' studying raises to a hot topic. In this regard, opinions are divided when it comes to selecting the best way to improve work efficiency. Although some might opt for noise-free environment or expecting a reward as the main method to help productivity, I have a different point of view. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the privileges of being passionate about something basically outweigh those of other options for a number of reasons, two of which --- that is --- leveraging significant motivational forces and not getting tired are the most conspicuous ones.

First and foremost, a great source of motivation is a direct result of being interested in the work that one is doing. Moreover, such motivation can help everyone to get through harsh situations such as noise-full working office, having absolutely no income from work, or discouragement from others to name but a few. On the other hand, without this kind of motivation, which apparently is absent in many workforces, no one can finish their work even in perfect office environment. A personal example can drive this fact home. Once I had a colleague of mine when I was working as a Computer Engineer in my last job. Although his office was a dream house for many people because of the most up-to-date equipment, he could not manage to finish his task due to the lack of interest. Consequently, it is obvious that interest in the work is one of the most vital factors of productivity.

Secondly, a decent amount of passion for the work is enough to not get tired in the course of completing a project. To be clear, it is a well-known fact that getting tired or hopelessness is one the main source of failures. Thus, the only person who can survive this is a person who has faith in the project, which expectedly, is a result of being highly interested in his or her work. For example, PHD programs are commonly associated with depression, and force many students to quit the program and university. However, the most successful PhD students are the ones who believe in their works and can sidestep these temporal feelings. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that having an interest is one of the main parameters ensuring a superior productivity since it helps to overcome the well-known hopelessness which are common in many projects.

In view of those thoughts elaborated upon and many more, we reach the conclusion that indisputable having a strong passion about the work is a vital part of most productive workflows. There are many reasons for this, two of which -- that is -- enjoying a powerful motivation and overcoming tiredness in the middle of a project. Therefore, I believe that improving on this factor is a great start to strengthen the overall efficiency.