In your opinion, which period of time is the most difficult in a person’s life:

1. Childhood 2. Teenage 3. Adulthood

Immersing myself in a huge pile of working paper, with figures keeping “dancing” on the computer screen, remaining thinking of numerous bills waiting for payment, worrying about my brother who was still in hospital after hours of surgery, I found my eyes filling with tears for such stresses. Suddenly, I felt craving for years when I was blissfully brought up in my parents’ arm. I desired to come back to my teenage, to run and play with my friends on carefree days. Then, backing to present moments, unexpectedly, I realized how hard it is to be an adult.

Concerning physical health, the more we grow up, the more tired we get. As children and adolescents, we are always cared for by our parents. We ought not to think about what to eat or where to live. Nevertheless, growing up into adults, we are to shoulder various responsibilities in life. All the burden of bread-and-butter issues as well as the wish to offer an abundantly material life to our loved ones forces us to try hard to earn money. Toiling and moiling for a living, accidentally, we forget that we do need a rest. Sometimes, we cannot remember when the last time we could listen to a single song or finish reading an entire book is. Probably, fathers may find no time for their child. After long days at work, instead of taking rest, mothers possibly feel overloaded with cooking and housework. At times, we realize that we are too exhausted to keep moving, but we knew we are not supposed to stop.

Speaking of mental health, adults are prone to suffer more psychological problems. Again, with restless physical pressures come mental stresses. Being fatigue, we find it is challenging to stay calm, and therefore, we easily get angry with others. This negatively affects our relationships, making ways for mental pressures to escalate. In another story, continuously confining ourselves to office with paperwork and computer screens only, we cannot realize how our relations with family, friends, and other people are turning loose. Not until we get stressed and really need someone to talk to, do we feel like a fish out of water. As bread-and-butter issues are no longer our daily worries, loneliness appears to be the most frightful obsession. It distorts our soul, silently eats up our heart, and waits to “kill” us in isolation. Besides, death and grief, divorce and separation are all unbearable misery that not children but merely adults who can thoroughly experience.

Regarding freedom, many may assume that while children and teenagers are constantly kept under parents’ supervision, adults are completely free for their time and choices. Nonetheless, this is not always true. Indeed, being adults, we must be more responsible and self-disciplined. When younger, we always find our parents and teachers there at our side to teach us from wrong to right, to give us second chances for our faults. As we grow up, freedom is exactly a “knife with two blades”. If well-controlled, we flourish. Yet, simply due to an involuntary mistake, our whole life is paid. Sometimes, we just yearn to go back to our past to be canned for childish tricks, to have someone remind us to go to bed early and, to sense love from our parents again.

Every phase of life has its own positives and challenges. Whether we want or not, we all grow up. After a series of ups and downs in life, we learn that no matter how physically or mentally tired we are, we should be self-disciplined and determined to overcome obstacles in life, and success is when we can achieve what we plan for.