In academic studies, grouping students according to academic abilities is good or not good? Give your opinion?

One of the most crucial reasons behind all the development and inventions is fierce competition. USSR and America discovered space and launched different missions owing to win a race to space. Competition is a major encouragement in academics too. However , not every student is capable to survive this and only the best ones make it till the end. I profoundly believe that clustering students based on their qualities and performance in the academics is a better option. We will discuss the same in this essay and lead to a logical conclusion.

At the onset, every individual is born special and owns expertise in different fields. While some students are good at mathematics, others might exhibit exceptional performance in sports. Hence, a student who is interested more in sports should be entertained separately and enrolled for special training to boost him. A research conducted by International University of Psychology revealed that 25% of the students gain their confidence when they are supported and encouraged to work harder in their area of interest.

On the darker side, some students not only lose their self-confidence but their academic conduct also yields miserable performance due to the peer pressure of choosing and focusing the streams which might not interest them. When students are not grouped as per their academic abilities, they inculcate inferiority complex if they fail to perform as per the expectations. A study conducted by National Child Development Center revealed that 15% of the students suffer depression and 5% even commit suicide due to constant comparisons with the high performing students. Hence, it not affects a student's academic performance, it affects their mental health if they are not grouped based on their educational performance.

In conclusion, combining students and creating groups as per their academic abilities and performance will not only help to focus more on low performing students and encourage them but also it will avoid any conflicts and mental stress that could arise out of peer pressure and competition.