Archaeology, Ethics And Character: Using Our Cultural Heritage To Teach Citizens

Senem ERÇATIM

ethics and Research Methods: Essay 1

topic: archaeology, ethics And character: using our cultural heritage To teach citizenship.

when one asked to convey thoughts about archaeology, certain picture comes to mind. archaeologist digging under hot sun with hat similar to Indiana Jones, the movie character. Some even confused about what archaeologists looking for, a treasure or a track from the past. The reality does not take place within the first thoughts. archaeology as a science needs deep understanding of what is done. Since 18th century it took a long journey to be in its present status. Now it is a social science with its rules and procedures, especially covering ethical issues. it is not simple as excavating and exhibiting the material culture belong to past. archaeologist has to make decisions in every circumstance. archaeologist makes decision when collecting data, interpreting data and publishing the data in varying environments. Today, there are laws on how to interpret data, how to decide on what to publish. still, archaeologists have to make decisions by themselves in accordance with their ethical stature.

it is a science resemble as a microcosm of life. Then practice of archaeology can be benefited in formation of good citizens especially in pluralistic societies like in america. The ethical issues handled in archaeology can be topic for a child to teach ethical issues in life. archaeologists think about the living owners of the cultures as the children need to think about the different cultures s/he lives with. In america, descendants are living there still, and an archaeologist need to interpret data by taking in consideration honor of the indigenous people living in the lands. So, a student also needs to consider the cultural differences. To make awareness about the cultural differences, archaeology is an effective tool. Stating the common and differing properties of diverse cultures can make recognition of differences and similarities. thereby, children will be helped to respect the differences by making them realize that the diverseness is natural, and people are living with different cultures.

children as a member of society need to learn to respect and take responsibility of their behaviors. character development is an important responsibility of educational organizations. In Utah, workshops are organized to teach ethical issues trough archaeology. As I mentioned before archaeologists as individuals building the past life of modern people need to make decisions and take responsibilities. archaeologist need to respect to descendants of ancient cultures and take responsibility to protect their material culture and other remaining. workshops held to teach the basic concept of archaeology. especially cultural understanding aimed. they taught to examine cultural diversities and common background. that way they can understand the shared values, principals and ideal that they live in. it is like habitus of bourdieu as bourdieu puts agents in the center of cultural development. children need to understand the habitus to act in accordance with it and develop it. thereby, they will understand their role and their environment.

still there is ethical issues related to archaeology, it is evolving to better. rules are developed for certain circumstances, particularly about carriers of ancient cultures. it is important to mention about one’s ancestors in a respectful manner. it is also important to interpret data trough evident remains to not manipulate the results. To extract data through digging, the sites are distorted. it is important to give as much as less harm to the sites during excavations. also, the museums as the stewardships of the treasures, material remains, they are in charge to preserve the object and the sites. museums role other than preservation of the curiosities and sites, exhibiting them in a proper way. museums as educational settings needed to be designed to deliver the information it held to the public.

archaeology as a science takes an important role in individuals’ life and need to be taught in schools. only a child knowing the past, the cultural formations and the properties of a social structure can be a good citizen, aware of responsibilities to others. In my opinion, in every primary and secondary school, it needs to be taught as a must course under social sciences. The topics covered under the social sciences need to be regulated to give information on cultural formation and cultural diversity. only this way, children respect to differences and know his/her role in society can be known. The future they can also be change maker if they understand the basic concepts of archaeology.

Reference:

Jeanne M. Moe , Carolee Coleman , Kristie Fink & Kirsti Krejs (2002) archaeology, ethics, and character: using our cultural heritage to teach citizenship, The social Studies, 93:3, 109-112, DOI: 10.1080/00377990209599892