Can political stability hurt economic growth?

The standard definition of political instability is the propensity of government collapse either because of conflicts or the rampant between different political parties. As the sound of the definition describes weather it hurts economic growth or not.

Political instability and economic growth are deeply interconnected. We can discuss what is the connection between those. Government collapse may reduce foreign investment. It directly affects to the economic growth and reduce the phase of the economic development. On the other hand the leaders should take care obout how to stabalize the government and then they haven’t got time to think about the economic growth. There will not be any decisions taken by authorities for the economic development.

Political stability can directly affect to the increasing of foreign investments. Investors always try to invest their money on countries where having a stable government. They don’t take risks. When there is a stable government the people can also work hard and think about their businesses and occupation without giving attention about the political parties. Productions will develop in the country. So the good governance will positively affects to the economic growth.

As an example we can consider about sri lanka. Since 2009, there was an unstable goverment because of the terrorist attacks. At that time foreign investments had reduced and also tourism field had collapsed. After 2009, when we got all the country under one flag it changed. Investments have flowen to the country. Tourists has been attracted further more. And foreign exchange increased gradually.

After examined these facts, we can definitely say political instability can hurt the economic growth well.