Cashless society is becoming a reality. More and more people are using credit cards for payment, and lesspeople use cash. How realistic do you think it is and do you think it is beneficial or problematic?

In modern era, cash is being used less frequently as it used to be. In reality, credit card payments are devoted in many countries, because it has much more beneficial and efficient than cash. This essay will discuss the benefits of credit cards in perspective of government and individuals.

On one hand, governments prefers credit card payments or electronic payments rather than cash payments. Simply, the biggest difference between cash and credit cards is the existence of trace. Many small business likes to receive cash payments because it is non-traceable, which they can omit the profit before tax that can reduce their liability of tax payable to the government. In other words, any electronic payment cannot be hidden that the cash transfer from one to the other. Therefore, in point of view from government, the credit cards payments benefit the government in order to minimize the tax evasions from business entities.

On the other hand, individuals also prefer the credit cards because of the convenient. According to the history of money in human beings, it started with carrying a huge stone as a medium of exchanges or trades. Ever since, gold and silver were found, people started to use pieces of gold and silver, which replaced the role of stone, then coin and notes have been used. It clarifies that as the human beings are evolving, the forms of money are also developing from big sizes to smaller sizes as time goes by. Nowadays, credit card, as a form of electronic medium of currency, it meets two of the characteristics of money, which are portable and uniformity that should be easily carried and difficult to be duplicated. Consequently, credit card has two of characteristics of money and much lighter and smaller than cash, it is more efficient to be used.

In conclusion, it is clear that credit card has been replacing the use of cash all over the world. It has more attractive characteristics than cash in both perspectives of governments and individuals. Credit cards, thereby, are encouraged to use due to advantages mentioned above.