Is cashless society realistic? What are the advantages and disadvantages.

Electronic transactions have become virtually inevitable part of almost every purchase since credit cards came to life. As a result, whether a cash-free society is realistic or not has become the epicenter of discussions in many social platforms. I am inclined to believe that a marketplace where nobody uses cash cannot be realised and the following paragraphs will elaborate on the advantages and the disadvantages of a cashless society.

On one hand, there are myriad of benefits of credit cards. Arguably, the most conspicuous one is that its convenience. As an example, credit card owners not only have the luxury to pay their bills or purchase a variety of services online with just the click of a button but also they just need to carry a light plastic card, not a bulky wallet. On the other hand, these conveniences are not without drawbacks. Some people, who rely on the credit their credit cards provide them, may face poverty if they cannot manage to pay their debts. For instance, data yielded by the University of Oxford in 2015 proves that those with low-income salary are suffering depression due to high credit card debts. Furthermore, there are some people who commit suicide when they cannot deal with the stress of the credit card bills.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the merits associated with cashless payments outweigh the downsides. However, a society which is completely cash-free is unrealistic considering people who are unbanked as well as under the poverty line.