Is cashless society realistic? What are the advantages and disadvantages.

Electronic transactions have become virtually inevitable part of almost every purchase in this century since credit cards came to life. Some people do not like carrying cash; others rely on the credit on their credit card. However, there are many disadvantages of becoming a cashless society as much as there are advantages. The following paragraphs will elaborate on both aspects of becoming a cash-free society and discuss whether it is realistic or not.

On one hand, credit cards provide individuals with a myriad of benefits. Without a doubt, the most conspicuous one is that its convenience. Nowadays, almost any product or service can be paid by credit card either online or via POS machine. For instance, people do not have to stand in the long queues for hours to pay their water or electricity bills. What is more, people do not have to carry heavy coins or bulky wallet which might be lost. On the other hand, these conveniences that the credit cards provide are not without any drawbacks. To begin with, many authorities such as governments and banks have access to personal information of the clients as well as their transaction records, which might be hacked and abused. Furthermore, electronic money is not tactile; therefore, there is not an actual transaction that one can see and feel, which makes it easier to spend money and harder to manage it.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the merits associated with cashless payments outweigh its downsides. However, an entirely cashless society is not realistic given the fact that there are many unbanked people due to poverty.