Culture shock is a new worrying concern for few immigrants, what are the possible options to eradicate this issue?

The effect of culture shock, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of culture shock has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on immigrants over the years. It can be said that it is a matter of concern for few immigrants as it can lead to disastrous consequences, however, this can be addressed. This essay will elaborate how one can feel alienated in a foreign land and how adequate preparation can help one acculturate into new culture easily.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why person feels isolated on foreign land, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that values, behaviors, and social customs that people usually take for granted, may no longer serve them in the new environment. For example, an immigrant might be unfamiliar with the vernacular language and tradition of host country and using his own language might make him feel alienated as he would find difficulty in communicating. So, pupils should get information before going to abroad.

Approaches to deal with the setbacks originated by culture shock are innumerable, but he most effective one is that adequate knowledge and education about different cultures and a positive mindset can help one acculturate into foreign culture, which is not impracticable and unattainable but comprehensible and feasible. For example, research reveals international students who are taught cultural sensitivity before migrating usually adapt to foreign culture more quickly and are less likely to feel anxious and confused in their new surroundings. Hence it is elixir to adjust in a new environment.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of culture shock is prominent, and the way it affects immigrants can make them feel depressed.