Do you think that formal written examination are a good way to assess knowledge at school.

These days, it has become a growing trend for schools to access knowledge by taking formal written exams. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that in order to examine the learning skills of students from reading to writing and speaking to listening, it is very important to conduct routine examinations procedures to ensure student's learning skills are successful. Not only can exams help in ensuring the learning skills, but it can also enhance the confidence level of students.

There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of formal written examination. The primary one stems from the fact that by cheating in exams, students can easily achieve higher grades. Besides, by formal written examination procedures, one can not decide the competency level of any student as it is not an effective procedure all the time. For instance, in order to get admission in University for higher studies, it is mandatory to pass the exam to get admission in University, if student cheats and pass the exam, it is not fair with other students.

In view of the above outlined arguments, one can conclude that the benefits of formal written examination are indeed too great to ignore.