Does video communication with doctor help patients to cure any disease Pros amp Cons

With the advancement of technology, new encroachments are visible in the field of medicine and one aspect is video conferencing between patient and doctor. There is a heated debate about the advantages as well as disadvantages of online consulting of doctors. This essay will discuss how convenient this mechanism for people and on the flip side the limited ways for a doctor to diagnose a patient.

Firstly, consulting a doctor through video conferencing makes easier for patients. Generally, people have to make prior appointments and go to channel centres or hospitals to meet a doctor. In certain instances doctors get late and people have to wait long hours in queues which wastes their precious time and money. Therefore, information technology has created a community friendly platform to overcome these obstacles.

On the other hand, online consulting narrows a doctor’s opportunities to diagnose a patient. A patient should be thoroughly checked before prescribing medicine. Although medical reported can be checked online, the doctor is not possible to see the patient’s real condition such as tests done by touching. Hence, in order to diagnose some patients with special conditions the patient has to visit the doctor.

In summary, video communication with a doctor allows patients to contact the doctor easily but there are limitations for diagnosing. In my opinion, this method is useful for non-critical sudden requirements and for other occasions, doctors should physically examine patients to avoid undesirable situations.