Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems.

What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

Over the past few years, people's mentality has been changed wherein they hold more value for materialistic things, rather than any relation, or people, and now it has taken a drastic form wherein old people are confronting myriad predicaments regarding health issues and find themselves in desolation, which was not in past. Thus, I am going to bring both the causes and solutions for this statement.

To begin with, old people are true assets for any society or nation, as they have valuable contributions in several forms, but now they are facing agony, dejection on account of plethora reasons. Firstly, people have dipped themselves utterly in the technology, as a result, their thinking and imagination have been confined until a limited sphere, thus they like to interact with peers, but they do not have time to spend with older people, which older people require at such an age. On top of that, people have developed huge greediness owing to which they are not satisfied and prefer to toil round the clock, irrespective of having any thought for old people, which is the most notable reason. For instance, it has been seen in many surveys that people are so obsessed with the desires and requirements that they have kept all the relationships on the brink of negligence.

On the flip side, this problem can be mitigated with certain initiatives. Firstly, people should organize all the resources and certain fun activities where older people can indulge themselves so that they should not have any feeling of loneliness. Furthermore, people should make a proper schedule for work and life, as a result, people will be able to give time to older people, and hence older people can get a sense of togetherness. In addition, every family should make sure that there should be a proper diet and precaution for old people so that older people can be able to maintain themselves healthy and fit.

In conclusion, I opine that old people act as a guide on every stage of life due to their valuable experiences, and one can never become successful by ignoring them.