Gerontologists, people who study the process of ageing, are getting closer to finding a way to increase the human lifespan significantly. They claim that within the next few decades humans may be able to live for 500 years or more. Would living more 500 years have positive or negative impacts on the world?

Support your responses with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Much research is done on aging of people and finding the solution “fountain of youth” has been a dream for many storybook characters. Gerontologists, people who study the process of ageing, are getting closer to finding a way to increase the human lifespan significantly and that prospect has both negative and positive impacts on the world. I am inclined to believe it has more negative impact than positive impacts. This essay will discuss both sides of prospects and lead a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, many people have strong desire to live an extraordinarily long life. Many people use the latest technologies to be frozen their bodies and later when science and technology find a solution to reawaken the bodies then they will be reawakened and continue their lives. This literally helps people to come true their dream of immortality and live long live. However, it is unclear that how it could be benefitted to the world as a whole.

On the flip side, as the world is already struggling with lack of resources and increasing population. This prospect to live 500 years long, the world won’t have sufficient resources to provide the population as it has limited resources. If the birth rate continues while at the same the death rate reduces due to a huge increase in lifespan, there will be much more pressure on the finite resources. The world cannot sustain for long if people’s lives to be extended to 500 years.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that how many people are interested in extending their lives by a further four centuries and how, if this became a possibility, it would be a massive problem while yielding no benefits for humankind as a whole.