Hosting sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup can bring benefits to the host countries. How far do you agree with this statement? Use your own examples to support.

The question “Can hosting sporting events such as the Olympic and the World cup bring benefits to the host countries?” has always been a controversial issue and has generated a myriad of arguments among people all around the world. Hosting sporting events is widely held to have been beneficial; yet, I tend to believe that we need to analyze the matter more closely.

From a social viewpoint, infrastructures are indeed bound to international standards, which can lead to both sports stadiums and hosting villages. For instance, a body of sport competition organizers, working at a renowned academic setting, conducted a series of thorough studies to develop a better understanding of the correlation between hosting sports events and beneficial achievements. The studies have confirmed that not only are they both related and linked, but also, they play an integral role in promoting own countries to other destinations.

Moreover, in sport tourism term, an increasing number of sport tourists is undoubtedly attributable to raising sports competitions in that it would lead to a decreasing rate of unemployment and social vitality as well as economic success. A well-known example of such attributions is Qatar, which is the cause for a raft of discussions. This vividly proves that investment in social events, hosting sports competitions and social welfare play an integral role in understanding the whole topic.

To recapitulate, I tend to consider all the aforementioned arguments as valid; however, we need to be as cautious as possible when it comes to scrutinizing such an important issue.