With the increase of digital media available online the role of the library has become obsolete University should provide digital material rather than textbooks Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

Recently, the phenomenon of "universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks" and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of adopting new technology is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals.

From an educational point of view, digitalization brings knowledge available in any part of the world. Even noticeably today, libraries are transforming themselves into an online platform so that students can get access to academic journals. Further, ever since the introduction of mobile phones and laptops, university-going youth prefers to read, bookmark, or copy material directly from the digital content. Apart from this, paper is made from trees, and with the introduction of Laptop, deforestation would be reduced as need of paper will be limited contributing sustainability to the ecosystem of the earth. For a tangible example, according to a survey done by Stanford University asserted that 9 out 10 students in universities find textbooks boring due to lack of creativity whereas in laptops, insights of creativity reflect. Hence, the beneficial ramifications of both electronic journals and reduction in cutting down of trees apparently can be seen.

On the other hand, some people find it difficult to focus on digital journals, and they prefer traditional textbooks where they can highlight points with markers. Consequently, demand of textbooks exists, and universities are forced to bring variety of hard books for students. Moreover, devices which enable digitalization are cost-effective, and therefore universities find it difficult to invest in digitalization.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that more electronic devices should be made available in universities.