With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should only produce digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The importance of the increase of digital media available online, which is always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of the online-based library has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the society in recent years. It can be agreed that digital media provides number of merits, but it has some drawbacks. This essay will elaborate both advantage and disadvantage of the electric textbooks and lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the university should be encouraged to use digital media in their library, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that online textbooks do not need to use tremendous paper for updating from time to time. For example, millions of paper are used to publish a recent version of a book in the real, which a lot of trees are spent for it. Therefore, E-books can play vital roles in updating books.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of online library, but the most notable one is rooted from the fact that it is not too much to say the importance of the library and its values are still important. For instance, many people still go to the library to find and read a book, even if they can access to the book throughout the technological devices. Thus, the library can not be obsolete and should be kept in the university.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impacts of the digitalized books are prominent, although it has some drawbacks.