Is increase tourism beneficial or harmful to the local culture ? Give your opinion.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is there is a colossal upsurge about tourism. There is a widespread worry that an increase in tourism is beneficial for local culture but some proponents say it has drawbacks. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious considerations.

There are many arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that the myriad influx in tourism helps to generate income for local and let the world know the importance of their culture. In fact, not only do tourism industry help to preserve the culture developed by ancestors but also helps to transfer to the new generations. For instance, the culture of Magar community of Gorkha, Nepal are welcoming tourist by their cultural dance and at the same time, the teenagers are knowing about it. Needless to say, all these merits stand local culture in good stead, as far as positive aspect is considered.

On the other hand, detrimental aspect of this argument is that local community are mimicking the western culture from the tourist and following it. Besides, it endangers local culture. For example, there are a number of researches by various governmental bodies that show that in Australia most of the new generation people speak english as a result, the aboriginals' native language is in danger. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the local tourist influx.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of tourist for local culture are indeed too great to ignore.