It is argued that university students should study a full range of subjects instead of some specific subjects To what extent do you agree or disagree

In today’s society, when having access to tertiary education becomes a life-changing opportunity for many students, there are many contradictory opinions related to systems of university education raised between people. One of them is that it would be prominent if pupils participated in a wide spectrum of subjects rather than specified areas. Even though there are many underlying reasons for this argument, students are likely to be more well-cultivated with both practical skills and theoretical knowledge when focusing on their definite subjects.

On the one hand, learning different subjects may offer students a well-rounded education which helps them enhance career prospects in the future. Firstly, as can be seen, in this increasingly competitive society, current employers show a tendency to recruit postgraduates who can do a myriad of jobs within a single position. Furthermore, undergraduates who major in interdisciplinary studies are expected to be in a preponderant position. In fact, nowadays, a content creator is not only required to master the writing but also develop their interpersonal and team working skills. Additionally, a growing number of pupils intend to follow the career path which completely contrasts with their major at university. Therefore, having an acquaintance with various fields during university days brings plenty of benefits for youngsters in their job pursuit.

On the contrary, a high concentration of subjects related to pupils’ degree-specific is indicated to be more beneficial. In the first place, studying a particular field provides students with a deeper understanding of academic knowledge and seems inclined to be more active on a probationary period. In addition, numerous prestigious universities over the world such as the University of Oxford; as regards students’ majors, the university decided to classify them into a faculty or department. By doing so, students can take advantage of receiving support and guidance from an expert in their field.

All in all, although having touch with all subjects may help students to pursue better employment, it will be a positive result if pupils follow a single major.