Law can change human behavior. Do you agree or not?

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about the law and the vast majority believe that it controls human behaviour. While the notion of law has hundreds of years of history, some people deter to consider law changes people. In this essay, I shall analyse both positive and negative impacts of abiding by the law and rational conclusion is presented at a later stage.

At the outlay, there are several reasons why many people prefer to abide by the law and one of them is to live peacefully and make people disciplined. As the initial penalty for breaking the law, verbal warnings are introduced, it is then followed by a written warning and a fine. Depends on the cause of breaking the law, people may face jail time, a life sentence or death penalty in some countries. With respect to an academic article published at Harvard University with regard to law, it is revealed that enforcing the law helps people towards refuge.

Nevertheless, there are some people argue law is an obstruction for a peaceful lifestyle. Hence, it is asserted that minority of people tend to amend the law to benefit individual needs. Moreover, it is argued that harsh punishments such as life sentences, death penalty are cruel and it violates human rights and yet, authorities tend to enforce the law to civilise the society.

While there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, my opinion is that to enforce law helps to discipline people and I strongly believe law shapes up human behaviour tremendously.