Law can change human behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

The importance of law, changing human behaviour, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of law and order has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on law in recent years. It can be agreed that law aids to alter human behaviour. This essay will elaborate how law changes human behaviour and how some people still commit offences and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why law changes human behaviour , but most conspicuous one stems from the fact that law fears people by imposing fines and penalties. As an illustration, driving under the influence of alcohol is considered as an offence in many countries. If someone caught committing it will face harsh penalties which may lead them to lose their driver’s licence for good. Furthermore, enforcing law and order will lead to lesser crimes. Therefore, people should obey the law.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that breaking the law is also significant for their own convenience as there are innumerable reasons for that but the most salient one is that people break the law unintentionally. For instance, crossing the road while using a mobile phone will put themselves and motorists in great danger, but pedestrians are unaware of it. In addition, based on a leading journal article published by The University of Harvard, more than eighty percent of people breaks the law unintentionally. Hence, there has to be some exceptions in enforcing law too.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of law changing human behaviour is prominent, although the way some people jump through loopholes intentionally or unintentionally of it should always be well handled and not be overlooked.