Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home As a result employees will have much more flexible working hours in the future Is this a positive or negative development

It is true that many companies are now applying flexibility in terms of hours and location at work so that employees can choose the most suitable option for themselves. Although there are some drawbacks of flexible hours at work, I would argue that there are far more advantages.

The main disadvantage of expanding options for employees to work from home is employee's productivity could decrease compared to when working at the company because they can be distracted by anything at home. In addition, lack of competition in the working environment will make them bored and lose motivation to work, thus, the work-life balance could break if they mix their daily life with the office life. Moreover, this method is not suitable with some companies or work that require a lot of interaction and perharp reduce the flexibility in communication if that situation takes longer. Not to mention, staff can also meet the Internet connection problems leading to delays in job submission.

On the other hand, change in the workplace could create excitement for some people that don’t enjoy the boredom from their office. Work at home can also reduce some unexpected incidents such as traffic jams, car breaks or meeting the person that makes them annoyed, etc. This will help them avoid unnecessary negative emotion and give them the best status to start to work. Furthermore, the companies could decrease the amount of money spent for facilities that are used to serve the basic needs of employees. Otherwise, working from home saved the money for employees, too. For instance, a technology company in Dubai has posted a survey on Linkedin that 100% of employees have saved around 17% of their salary while telecommuting.

To conclude, while I recognize some disadvantages of flexible options for employees, I consider it to be a positive development overall.