Medical technology can increase the humans life expectancy. Is it blessing or curse?

The advancement in medical technology can increase human life expectancy. Considering this, there are some analysts who view this as a blessing, while others view this as a curse. I am inclined to believe that it is a blessing. Both the sides will be critiqued before the reasoned conclusion is found.

With the increased life expectancy, we can see that many elderly people will get more chance to contribute towards social and economic society. They can share their tremendous knowledge with the younger generation if they are healthier. They can also be an mental support and guide the families in a good manner.

However, despite numerous advantages, increased life expectancy brings more disadvantages. As we grow older, we need to spend huge money on medical expenses, this will have a financial impact on both the family members and state governments. Apart from that, increased life expectancy also has a direct impact on younger generation as well because the older people will continue to work more and subsequently they will start impacting the job availability for the younger ones. They will also consume more infrastructure resources like housing, transportation facilities.

In conclusion, although increased life expectancy has immensely benefited us both economically and socially, it has several disadvantages. However, a balance can be established by lowering the retirement age while offering older generation honorary jobs that aim at guiding the youth to understand business and government system, in this way increased life expectancy will yield better results and helps everyone in society