In the most education system, students are assessed by written examinations, do you think it is good idea or not? Give your reasons.

The importance of assessing students by written examinations, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of written assessments in the education system has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on students in recent years. It can be agreed that formal examination is the best approach to analyse the academic performance, but it has some drawbacks. This essay will elaborate both positive and adverse effects of weighing student’s performance by written examination and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why written assessment has proven to be beneficial for students, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that this system effectively tests the student’s memory and gives a clear picture of their understanding of the teachers. For instance, this method advises about the knowledge of a student that he has gained throughout the year. As the exam is given under strict environment, the students cannot take help from any other recourse. Thus, the written exam plays a vital role in our education system.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of written examination on students, but the most alarming one lies in the fact that it does not reflect the true abilities as their hard work of the whole year depends on a single day’s performance, which may be affected by any domestic problem, illness or stress. As an illustration, a talented student may not be able to perform up to the mark in the examination as it hinders the ability of students due to extra cognitive stress and working under pressure. Thus, written examination should not be an only parameter to evaluate student’s knowledge.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of written examination on students is prominent, although it has a number of drawbacks that should be well handled.