Nowadays, the mass media including TV, radio and newspaper have become the
essential part of our lives. What is your opinion?
“People react according to the perspective they hold in any situation" is a well-known
and accepted fact around the world. Of course, perspective is highly influenced by
the information people receive through communication channels like TV, radio, and
newspapers. Hence, as expected, to control the burgeoning of people's thoughts,
many countries have regulated the freedom of media.
Firstly, nowadays, media plays a vital role in forming our perspectives towards our
country's current politics, sports, and other issues as it is an important part of our
everyday life. Almost all of us use some sort of media to get updated about the
world. In fact, for many of us, a day starts with a newspaper. Since media persons are
highly revered, accordingly, we truly trust the information we receive from media.
For example: during the World War II, Hitler used the German media to spread false
news about atrocities over German people living in other European countries to
mentally prepare everyone in Germany to gear up for war.
Secondly, media also shapes our minds to understand each other's cultural values and
perspectives. Media brings us views of different people over same issues and based on
the circumstances we react, oppose and even embrace these different views. Also,
media brings all of us to a single platform where we learn about multi-cultures.
So, the vital impact of media cannot be disregarded. For example: in multi-cultural cities
like Toronto, media plays a prominent role in unifying multinationals and pumps in
nationality.
In conclusion, I believe media is having a tremendous impact on people's mind and
perspectives. Hence, it is equally important to ensure the freedom of media and
publication of unbiased news.