Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is the colossal upsurge in television viewing among the populace. Though it can be agreed that viewing television has many advantages like, getting news, awareness and sometimes as a companion as well, but others hold different view due to reduced productivity of the viewer. However, this essay will discuss the impact of television viewing on our lives.

There are myriads of argument in support of my stance, but the most preponderant one is that television has become the leading source of getting information, entertainment and knowledge. There are different genres of satellite channels are being broadcasted, e.g., on Discovery and National Geographical Channel, we can learn about wildlife and science while on the other hand, we can get news by watching BBC and CNN. Furthermore, one can find the channel on any topic they are interested in. Moreover, recent research invariably reveals that children are getting smarter due to watching television.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument it acts as a companion for many. In today’s world, many people live in solitude and failed to make friends. For such individuals television act as a companion, they can watch television to kill their boredom, as well as getting informed and entertained.

Given the above discussion, it can be concluded that television has a significant impact on our lives, not only it can be used as a tool for entertainment, information but can act as a companion too. Thus, television is shaping our thoughts and lifestyle nowadays.