Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some people believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that public education is the best way to decrease sugar c

Obesity is an increasing problem in today's world and the main reason which causes obesity is the intake of sugary products. While some people think that the taxation on sugary products can reduce the obesity levels in the country, others believe that public education can be helpful to decrease the obesity levels since the tax for the sugary products is unnecessary. This essay will discuss the reasons why public education is mandatory to reduce the sugar levels of the people, and why taxation does not bring much difference to the obesity levels.

Generally, when people are bombarded with the education regarding obesity due to the sugary intakes, they take it up seriously since they know it affects their health. As the awareness and the public education increases, there will be a definite period when the obesity levels in the country reduce tremendously. In my personal observation, a small district in the North of India has abandoned sugary products when they become aware of the fact that it brings about obesity. Hence, public education is crucial in bringing down the levels of obesity.

Also, the taxation on sugary drinks does not reduce the obesity levels. This is because, most people are above the middle-class category, and they do not mind paying taxes for these drinking substances. To sum up, taxation will be a negative burden on the people, and it does not reduce the obesity levels.

Overall, this essay discussed how the public education will lower the obesity levels, and why taxation may not be a strategy to reduce the obesity. In my opinion, public education on the sugar products and drinks should be increased so that the people are conscious of the obesity factor.