In order to study effectively, it requires comfort, peace and time. So it is impossible for a student to combine learning and employment at the same time, because one distracts the other. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Support your opinion with examples.

Studying requires a peaceful mind, time and comfort. Students can engage in further research, be creative and innovative only if they are given adequate time and a relaxed environment to study in. However, it has become impossible in reality, mostly because of the unbearable tuition fees and in the case of Masters, work experience has highlighted as an essential factor.

To begin with, most parents are financially incapable of spending a huge lump of money on education hence part-time jobs have become life savior of most of the students. It may be feasible for PhD students since they can work as Graduate teaching Assistants and earn an allowance receive grants. But this is not the case in Bachelors and Masters, where it’s the duty of the student to fund the entire degree. Even with scholarships, they still have to pay a considerable amount of tuition fees and while spending on accommodation and food, which are not cheap either. Hence even though employment can be a distraction, students have no better option.

Moreover, taking time-off work to do studies may even harmfully affect professional career. For example, a master student who gave up his job to pursue studies might find it difficult to find a job after finishing studies. Employers questions about the gap in employment history and recognize it as a failure to handle pressure. Furthermore, the student might lose touch with the latest development in the industry. Hence, halting employment to concentrate on studies may affect employability.

In conclusion, although work can be a distraction towards studies, it is financially infeasible and may cause problems in finding work later. Hence, it is advisable to learn to balance work and studies. It is a skill that would benefit them in balancing work and family life later.